Spanish Conversational Skills/ Blog

La Rioja – Spain’s smallest autonomous regions

19 March 2019

Wines and viticulture

Rioja is of course world famous for its wine, a tradition which Rioja has enjoyed for many centuries. It defines not only the landscape and local geography, but also its people, culture and heritage. Wine forms an integral part of Riojan life, with the local festivals (fiestas de pueblos) marking each point within the viticulture cycle.

La Rioja, as an administrative wine region, is made up of three sub-regions.

Rioja Alta
Known for the heights of its vines, the altitude is conducive to a lighter wine due to its shorter growing season.

Rioja Alavesa
This region encompasses the southern area of Álava which is a province of the Basque country. Wines from this region are typically full bodies, balanced with a higher acidic level.

Rioja Baja
Here the soil is the most fertile and rich, leading to very full, deep coloured wine with very little acidity. It also endures higher temperatures with intermittent dry spells. This makes Rioja Baja idea for fruit cultivation for which it takes full advantage. It is highly likely that at some point in the year your supermarket will stock cherries, peaches, plums, kiwifruits and much more which originated from a grove in Rioja Baja.

A modern and advanced people
For all its traditions and deep-rooted culture Rioja is one of the most advanced and modern communities in Spain. It is home to Spains largest Internet Service Provider and is at the forefront of evolving Internet and telecommunications.

The provincial Capital, Logroño boasts over 1200 bars, 3 major shopping centres each with their own multiplex cinemas, plush and trendy boulevards offering designer ware, varied tapas, and top-quality restaurants offering diverse and international cuisines.